15
Oct
09

Intelligent Content For The Masses

I love it when models open their mouths and speak and with every word they sound dumber and dumber and dumber. On this show on SABC 3 last night called C.I.G.A.R.E (pronounced ‘cigar’. Yeah I know, wtf?!) they interviewed some model from the East Rand called Michelle (I think).

Ok brace yourselves people.

Favourite things: Movies, DVD’s, shopping, shoes and going out dancing with her friends. We didn’t really catch this one bit 100%, but I think the interviewer asked her what she would do if a guy approached her in a club and tried to speak to her and she said without a shadow of a doubt that basically, she would snub that fucker. Hard.

Funniest thing was during all of the cut-aways to the modelling shoot she was doing, she was in the same pose.

If you can picture a girl lying flat on her back, knees up and her arse clenched tight and lifted about a foot off the floor, so she looked like she was making a triangle, that’s how she was posing IN EVERY SHOT.

Looked like she was boning the invisible man.

 

Are we on the same page here? Ok, cool

Are we on the same page here? Ok, cool

 

Jenni-fuh just asked if I was gonna blog it and I said ‘Yes, I would.’ I said I’d blog about her asking that question about me blogging because I told her that’s what’s called meta-blogging.

The next step will be when I can type and simultaneously upload this in real time, without having to hit ‘Publish’ or ‘Send’ or anything and the step after is when my typing it will automatically be a voice file that is broadcast across a frequency that you can tune in and out of at will by using your mind.

It would be like inviting another person to live in your head. Sounds like a totally insane and fucked up idea, but we do it all the time, and we aren’t fussy about who we let in there either.

Before that show I dropped Graum off at the airport, he’s missioning through to Monaco for his oldest brother’s second wedding. The sky looked cool when I dropped him off:

 

Airport descending staircase

Airport descending staircase

 

Back at home I tried to write some character bios. I want it to be so that if you click a person’s name you’ll be able to get a short bio of them.

This is called ‘making a site interactive’ it’s something they invented about two or three months ago when they started selling Vista bundled with Web 0.2, now with antivirus so they can’t hack your face data on twit book.

It’s a whole buncha cockamamie terms that I don’t pretend to understand.

But anyway, so far J-Rab is the only one with a character bio. Go ahead. Click her name, you know you want to.

That’s right… you weird little pervert.

Last night Pooperoo came over and we traded some music, I bounced a couple of ideas about some creative projects I’ve been thinking up off him and he liked them.

I think there is a very real need in this country for all of us to up the game when it comes to the quality of the media content that is produced because by international standards we are pretty far behind (with a few notable exceptions).

The internet will set us free. God only knows what the fuck is happening with the SABC, but I can tell you one thing for free, soon as the cost of bandwidth comes down and internet speeds increase in this country, there will be an explosion of content being sent out there from SA.

It’s not that we don’t have the talent in this country, we do, by the truckload. The problem is that production budgets are miniscule and the local TV networks don’t want to take risks when it comes to airing content that might, god forbid, push the boundaries of what is deemed ‘acceptable’ and ‘safe’.

Art is not safe, what the fuck?! It’s supposed to be edgy and racy, and most of all, it’s supposed to be INTELLIGENT.

There aren’t enough INTELLIGENT people out there making content.

Highest grossing movie in South Africa of all time? Take a wild guess. And no, it’s not Titanic, it’s not Lord of the Rings, it’s not even fucking Spiderman or Transformers, no.

It’s Mr Bones.

 

If this is your favourite movies of all time, I'm sorry to be the one to break it to you, but you're retarded

If this is your favourite movies of all time, I'm sorry to be the one to break it to you, but you're retarded

 

Don’t get me wrong, I’m stoked a local production is the highest grossing film in SA, my problem is that it’s purile. This is the level we are currently at, we’re registering about a 2. This is what the masses want.

It’s time to up the game. I’ve got plans in the pipelines that if they work are going to rock this country hard.

Watch this space 😉

-ST

1 Response to “Intelligent Content For The Masses”


  1. October 15, 2009 at 2:55 pm

    I would like to take a bow for musing you with the Schuster thoughts… 😉


Leave a Reply

A Word From The Kind Folks At Nokia

Afrigator


